April 7, 2016 Meeting of Enid Writers Club

coffee    The April meeting of the Enid Writers Club was held on  April 7, 2016 at NWOSU, 6:30 p.m.  Our program for the evening was led by Diana Haslett titled The Hero’s Journey.  The 150 word roll call was won by Jim Arnold with his poem Coffee.  The topic was the five senses.

 

Coffee 

I hate the way that coffee looks and despise it’s horrible smell.

Tasted some coffee filled chocolate once, thought I was in hell. 

I’m tired of hearing all about flavoring, roast, and bean.

And those cafés charge an arm and leg, someone should intervene.  

So my wife bought a coffee maker – expects me to learn to brew.

“Good husbands make the morning coffee.” This I never knew.

“With my big hands and those thin filters, It’s never going to work.”

“Gently blow them apart”, she said, “and quit acting like a jerk.”

Let me share a secret, I spit in the filter each time I blow.

Then in the coffeemaker quick so she will never know.

I do it each and every time and never ever have been caught.

Anyone want a cup of coffee? I just made a fresh pot.

 

Our next meeting will be held on May 5, 2016, 6:30 pm at Western Sizzlin’ for our annual banquet.

Leave a Reply

