November 5, 2015 Meeting

Mike Klaassen 2

The Enid Writers’ Club was happy to host our guest speaker for the evening, Mike Klaassen, fiction writer from Wichita.  Mike is the author of two YA books Cracks and The Brute.  He spoke on Scenes & Sequels: The Ebb and Flow of Fiction.  You can find Mike at http://www.mikeklaassen.com.

The traveling trophy for the Roll Call piece titled “When I tried to back out of my driveway . . . ” was tied between Karen Evans, Sharon Frye and Martha Draper.  Martha, our Vice President, took home the trophy and here is her piece for the evening.

I glimpsed a blur of kittens when I tried to back out of my driveway.  I stopped, honked, banged on the side of my car door, an elderly gentleman ghost- glided by in a golf cart. I then dodged the new mailbox a few feet away.  The mailbox is a result of our post office hours being cut and my neighbor across the street put up his mailbox in the ditch near my driveway.

            Millie’s rearview mirror came unglued so I rely on turning around, and also using side mirrors with that famous label:  Objects are closer than they seem.

             My car, a Buick Century aka Millenium thus shortened to Millie, is like me, a senior citizen. There aren’t back up-cameras.

             Once I actually get to drive away is when I sigh with great relief.

The next meeting will be held December 3, 2015 at NWOSU 6:30 pm in the Conference Room.  It is our annual Christmas party and all members are asked to bring a snack to share and a gift suitable for a writer for our gift exchange.

Leave a Reply

